The Return of TLT: Request for Thai Dictionaries, Books, Etc.

Wednesday, December 19, 2007 at 11:53 am 2 comments

Just as you all started reading this blog, I let it wither! I’m sorry; I spent the last few weeks on a side project that consumed most of my spare time. That’s complete now so it’s time to get back to work!

I have a request for readers of Thai Language Tricks. I am looking for reference material useful for English-speakers learning Thai, for example, dictionaries, encyclopedias, phrase books, and things like that. Here is what I need:

  • Electronic format: PDF, HTML, plain text, or any other format that I can download
  • Freely distributable: I will re-distribute it, so it should be public domain, creative commons, or otherwise permit copying

I will explain my purpose in a subsequent announcement. For now, I will say that I am seeking the most valuable electronic reference material I can find, and I will make it more accessible. Thai Wikipedia is currently at the top of my list. Any suggestions?

Entry filed under: Meta. Tags: .

Compliments for ร and ล I wouldn’t go that far / ผมไม่ไปไกลถึงขนาดนั้น

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rikker  |  Wednesday, December 19, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    How about the Foreign Service Institute course? All FSI material is public domain by, since the U.S. government can’t own copyrights. The website fsi-language-courses.com has the noble goal of compiling these, along with the accompanying audio tapes (scanned and recorded by users).

    http://www.fsi-language-courses.com/Thai.aspx

    Right now they have the student texts for the first two courses, and the audio for the first course and for an introduction to Thai phonology.

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  Saturday, November 1, 2008 at 12:10 am

    ThaiEng community-based dictionary service
    http://dict.longdo.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


